Our ANSI-accredited California Online Food Handler Program is designed to give food service employees a simple, effective and affordable option for online food safety training.
California food handler certificate holders are qualified to:
After you complete the 2.5-hour course, you can instantly download your food handler card! Simply print a copy for your employer and keep one for your own records.
Do you work in San Diego County? Learn more about our San Diego County-approved food handler course.
Register for the Course
Sign up online using our secure payment system. You have up to 180 days to complete the course after you enroll.
Complete Your Training
Follow the course material, which includes 2.5 hours of learning and a final exam. Our program is 100% online, so you can train 24/7 on your own schedule.
Print Your Certificate
After you pass the final exam with a score of at least 70%, you can instantly download your food handler card. Your certificate remains valid for three years.
Most food handlers at retail food establishments in California are required to complete food safety training within 30 days of employment. A food handler is any food service employee who works with unpackaged food, utensils or food equipment, or surfaces that come in contact with food.
You may need a California food handler card if you work as a:
Food safety training requirements can vary depending on your job and your county of employment, so it's important to ask your employer about its specific training requirements.
Topics you'll learn about in the California Online Food Handler program include:
The California Online Food Handler Program is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) to issue certificates in food handling upon successful completion of our course. Learning materials in the course meet training requirements outlined in the California Food Handler Card Law (SB 303), the California Retail Food Code 2018 and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's 2017 Food Code.
Our food handler certificate is accepted by retail food establishments in all California counties except Riverside, San Bernardino and San Diego. These counties have separate standards and requirements for food handler training. If you work in San Diego County, you can take our county-approved food handler course.